The Rock Aqua Jays Water Ski Show Team (Janesville, Wis.) won the nat..." /> The Rock Aqua Jays Water Ski Show Team (Janesville, Wis.) won the nat..." />

Rock Aqua Jays Win Team Title At 46th Indmar Show Ski Nationals

by Scott N. Atkinson

The Rock Aqua Jays Water Ski Show Team (Janesville, Wis.) won the national team title at the 46th Indmar Marine Engines Division 1 Show Ski National Championships, presented by Visit Central Florida, Aug. 13-15, at Traxler Park in Janesville, Wis. View Webcast Archives.

The Rock Aqua Jays earned high-scoring awards for High-Scoring Act (Barefoot Whirlpool), Pyramid, Ballet, Barefoot, Swivel, Doubles, Dock & Equipment Personnel, Pick-Up Boat Crew, Towboat, and Sound Crew (tie) on its way to tallying a grand total 2,031.4 points and winning its 21st national title in the history of the event, and first since 2018.

The tournament featured 14 teams and more than 1,500 athletes. In competitive show skiing, each club has one hour to present a theatrical performance on water skis. Judges score acts by awarding points based on originality, presentation and execution. Elaborate costumes and staging intermix with music and fast action on the water as an announcer leads the audience through the show.

The Aquanuts (Twin Lakes, Wis.), which earned the high-scoring award for Jump, finished second with 1,861.88 points. The Mad-City Ski Team (Madison, Wis.), the defending national team champion from 2019 (the event was cancelled in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic), finished third with 1,799.86 points, and shared the high-scoring award for Sound Crew with the Rock Aqua Jays. Wonder Lake (Wonder Lake, Ill.) with 1,712.96 points and the Backwater Gamblers (Rock Island, Ill.) with 1,549.74 points rounded out the top-five placements, respectively.

Wonder Lake’s Brea Imse (Wheeling, Ill.) and the Hartwick Huskys’ Mitch Tanner (Delhi, Iowa) won the Willa Cook and Skip Gilkerson awards, respectively. The awards are given to the tournament’s top female and male performers, as voted on by the tournament officials.

In addition to the team competition, athletes competed individually in swivel, strap doubles, freestyle jumping and team jumping. Brea Imse (Wheeling, Ill.) won the swivel title, scoring 18.00 points; Kimberly Stoner (Hartland, Wis.) and Cory Krivitz (Hartland, Wis.) won doubles, scoring 17.66 points; the Sarasota Ski-A-Rees (Sarasota, Fla.) won team jumping, scoring 64.40 points; and Garrett Bouley (Bradenton, Fla.) won freestyle jumping, scoring 872 points. In the new swivel pairs exhibition event, Grace Petzold (Mequon, Wis.) and Kailey Koehler (Lake Geneva, Wis.) won the event, scoring 14.70 points.

View Complete ResultsView Webcast Archives.

Scott N. Atkinson is the Senior Director of Communications & External Relations for USA Water Ski & Wake Sports and Editor of The Water Skier magazine, the official publication of USA Water Ski & Wake Sports.


Water Ski and USOPC Logo
  • Accessibility
  • Site Map
  • Careers , opens in a new tab
  • Contact Us
  • Financials
  • Terms of Use , opens in a new tab
  • Privacy Policy , opens in a new tab

© 2023 Copyright © USA Waterski & Wake Sports - All Rights Reserved.