Pan American Games History

Pan American Games - Water Skiing & Wakeboarding History

Water skiing has been a part of the Pan American Games’ sports program since the 1995 Games in Mar Del Plato, Argentina. Men’s wakeboarding was added to the water skiing program – joining Men’s and Women’s slalom, tricks and jumping – for the first time at the 2007 Pan American Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Women's wakeboarding was added to the program at the 2019 Games in Lima, Peru.

The U.S. Pan American Water Ski & Wakeboard Team has won the medal count at two Pan American Games (1999 and 2003); it tied with Canada for the high count in 1995; Canada won the high count in 2007, 2011, 2015 and 2019. The United States has won at least three gold medals in six of its seven Pan American Games’ appearances.
The XIX Pan American Games will be held Oct. 20-Nov. 5, 2023 in Santiago, Chile.


Water Ski and USOPC Logo
  • Accessibility
  • Site Map
  • Careers , opens in a new tab
  • Contact Us
  • Financials
  • Terms of Use , opens in a new tab
  • Privacy Policy , opens in a new tab

© 2023 Copyright © USA Waterski & Wake Sports - All Rights Reserved.