Kennedy Hansen slalom skiing
Photography: Phillip Fields


Ragin' Cajuns Win Syndicate Waterskis Collegiate Nationals

by USA Water Ski & Wake Sports

The University of Louisiana-Lafayette won the Division 1 national title at the Syndicate Waterskis 44th Collegiate Water Ski National Championships, Oct. 26-28, at Tri-Lakes in Zachary, La. The Ragin’ Cajuns tallied 13,320.0 points in winning their fourth consecutive and 10th overall national title since the inception of the event in 1979. The University of Louisiana-Monroe finished second with 11,510.0 points. The University of Alabama, which tallied 11,505.0 points, placed third. Florida Southern College finished fourth with 10,415.0 points and Arizona State University was fifth with 10,160.0 points.

The Nationals included 12 teams in Division 1 and 12 teams in Division 2. National team champions were declared in both divisions. Individual medals for slalom, tricks and jumping were awarded based on athletes' placements within their division. Overall titles were awarded in each division to athletes competing in all three events. Athletes finishing in the top-five in each event of slalom, tricks, jump and overall in Division 1 earned All-American honors.

The Division 1 field was comprised of: University of Alabama, Arizona State University, Clemson University, Florida Southern College, Kansas University, University of Louisiana-Lafayette, University of Louisiana-Monroe, Miami of Ohio University, Rollins College, Texas A&M University, University of Wisconsin, and University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

Athletes winning individual national titles in Division 1 were: Rollins College’s Patricio Font (Mexico), men’s tricks (7,260 points). Font’s score of 7,260 points is a pending National Collegiate Water Ski Association record, surpassing his mark of 7,220 points set in 2022. Louisiana-Lafayette’s Annemarie Wroblewski (Toledo, Ohio), women’s slalom (1-1/2 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off). Louisiana-Lafayette’s Arron Davies (Great Britain), men’s slalom (1 buoy at 41 feet off); Louisiana-Lafayette’s Kennedy Hansen (Milton, Fla.), women’s jump (142 feet) and overall (1,725 points); Rollins College’s Neilly Ross (Canada), women’s tricks (5,700 points); Alabama’s Will Roberts (Dow, Ill.), men’s jump (193 feet); and Edoardo Marenzi (Italy), men’s overall (1,590 points).

The Division 2 field was comprised of: University of Arkansas, Auburn University, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, University of Cincinnati, University of Michigan, University of Nebraska, Ohio State University, Purdue University, San Diego State University, Texas State University, UCLA and Western Washington University.

The University of Michigan won the Division 2 team title, scoring 9,660.0 points. San Diego State University placed second (9,285.0 points), followed by the University of Nebraska (9,190 points), the University of Arkansas (8,760 points) and the University of Cincinnati (8,010 points).

Athletes winning individual national titles in Division 2 were: University of Nebraska’s Samuel Weber (Lincoln, Neb.), men’s slalom (2 buoys at 35 feet off) and overall (1,610 points); Purdue University’s Eric O’Keefe (Fort Collins, Colo.), men’s jump (152 feet); UCLA’s Paul Wesley Cory (Sacramento, Calif.), men’s tricks (2,120 points); University of Arkansas’ Claire Meara (Kansas City, Mo.), women’s tricks (1,190 points), jump (100 feet) and overall (1,700 points); and UCLA’s Stella Anastasi (Cyprus), women’s slalom (2 buoys at 32 feet off).


Water Ski and USOPC Logo
  • Accessibility
  • Site Map
  • Careers , opens in a new tab
  • Contact Us
  • Financials
  • Terms of Use , opens in a new tab
  • Privacy Policy , opens in a new tab

© 2024 Copyright © USA Waterski & Wake Sports - All Rights Reserved.