3-Event Water SkiingShow SkiingCollegiate SkiingWakeboardingBarefootingSki RacingHydrofoilingKneeboardingDisabled Skiing
Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow

73rd GOODE Water Ski National Championships

Aug. 11-15, 2015

          West Palm Beach, Florida       

24 Athletes Win National Titles On Day 4

The 73rd GOODE Water Ski National Championships continued Friday at Okeeheelee Park in West Palm Beach, Fla., with 24 athletes winning titles in respective events. To view the official scorebook, click here. Unofficial live scoring can be viewed by clicking here.

More than 600 water ski athletes from across the United States are competing for national titles in slalom, tricks, jumping and overall in respective age divisions and two Open divisions during the six-day tournament, which culminates on Saturday.

Among the highlights on Friday: Marc Bedsole (Orlando, Fla.) won his seventh consecutive and ninth career national tricks title, scoring 5,390 points in winning Men 3. Greg Badal (Brentwood, Calif.) won his second consecutive and fifth career national slalom title, scoring 2-1/2 buoys at 41 feet off in winning Masters Men. Cole McCormick (Dundee, Fla.), who won Men 1 tricks on Thursday, clinched the national overall title on Friday with 3,280.6 points. Stephen Seal (Panama City, Fla.), who won Men 2 tricks on Thursday, won the national jumping (177 feet) and overall (2,806.6 points) titles on Friday. Dan Zeisler (Oxford, Conn.) won his 11th career national jumping title, soaring 157 feet in Men 4. Brandy Nagle (Elk Grove, Calif.) won the Women 3 national slalom (2-1/2 buoys at 35 feet off) and tricks (4,390 points) titles. Regina Jaquess (Santa Rosa Beach, Fla.) won the Open Women national slalom (2 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off) and tricks (6,670 points) titles. Joy Kelley (Loudon, Tenn.) won the Women 5 jumping (105 feet) and overall (3,748.8 points) titles. Mark Brandt (Chippewa Falls, Wis.) won the Men 5 national slalom title, scoring 4-1/2 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off in the 48-skier field to clinch his third career national title.

Friday's (Day 4) National Champions

Masters Men Slalom: Greg Badal (Brentwood, Calif.), 2-1/2 buoys at 41 feet off; Masters Women Slalom: Jennifer LaPoint (Orlando, Fla.), 4 buoys at 38 feet off; Open Women Slalom and Tricks: Regina Jaquess (Santa Rosa Beach, Fla.), 2 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off/6,670 points; Open Men Slalom: Nate Smith (McCordsville, Ind.), 2 buoys at 41 feet off; Men 5 Slalom: Mark Brandt (Chippewa Falls, Wis.), 4-1/2 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off; Women 3 Slalom and Tricks: Brandy Nagle (Elk Grove, Calif.), 2-1/2 buoys at 35 feet off/4,390 points; Men 1 Slalom: Michael Bullock (Hillsboro, Tenn.), 1-1/2 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off; Women 2 Slalom: Michaela Cooper (Boulder, Colo.), 1 buoy at 38 feet off; Men 4 Tricks: Marc Bedsole (Orlando, Fla.), 5,390 points; Men 3 Tricks: Ric Stallings (Rossville, Tenn.), 4,050 points; Men 5 Tricks: Gordon Hall (Martindale, Texas), 3,440 points; Masters Men Tricks: Eric Lee (Mecca, Calif.), 2,950 points; Open Men Tricks: Adam Pickos (Santa Rosa Beach, Fla.), 11,190 points; Masters Women Tricks: Adele Caputo (Orlando, Fla.), 3,940 points; Women 4 Tricks: Lydie Robsham (West Palm Beach, Fla.), 5010 points; Women 4 Jumping and Overall: Lori Krueger (Martindale, Texas), 120 feet/3,407.1 points; Men 2 Jumping and Overall: Stephen Seal (Panama City, Fla.), 177 feet/2,806.6 points; Men 4 Jumping: Dan Zeisler (Oxford, Conn.), 157 feet; Women 5 Jumping and Overall: Joy Kelley (Loudon, Tenn.), 106 feet/3,748.8 points; Men 3 Jumping: Jody Hooten (Austin, Texas), 169 feet; Men 1 Overall: Cole McCormick (Dundee, Fla.), 3,280.6 points; Women 2 Overall: Erin Kalkbrenner (St. Charles, Mo.), 2,874.7 points; Men 4 Overall: Mike Thompson (Princeton, Texas), 2,657.7 points; and Men 3 Overall: Jeff Surdej (Wilmington, Ill.), 2,767.1 points.

Advancement to the Water Ski National Championships – the world’s largest 3-event water ski tournament – is primarily earned through placement on the national rankings list. Athletes also can qualify for Nationals by placing in the top-five at Regionals or by placing in the top-five at the previous year’s Nationals.

Saturday's action begins at 10:00 a.m. Admission is free and the public is welcome to attend.

The first national championships was held in 1939 at Jones Beach in Long Island, N.Y. Except for three years during World War II (1942-1944), the Nationals has been held every year since 1939.