3-Event Water SkiingShow SkiingCollegiate SkiingWakeboardingBarefootingSki RacingHydrofoilingKneeboardingDisabled Skiing
Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow

73rd GOODE Water Ski National Championships

Aug. 11-15, 2015

          West Palm Beach, Florida    

16 Athletes Win Titles On Day 3

The 73rd annual GOODE Water Ski National Championships continued Thursday at Okeeheelee Park in West Palm Beach, Fla., with 16 athletes winning national titles in respective events. The world’s largest three-event water ski tournament, which began Tuesday, runs through Saturday. To view the official scorebook, click here. Unofficial scores are available via the live scoring site by clicking here.

Advancement to the Water Ski National Championships – the world's largest 3-event water ski tournament – is primarily earned through placement on the national rankings list. Athletes also can qualify for Nationals by placing in the top-five at Regionals or by placing in the top-five at the previous year's Nationals.

Among the highlights on Thursday: Don Aschenbrenner (Cornelius, N.C.) won his third consecutive Men 4 national slalom title, scoring 1/2 buoy at 41 feet off. Briant Detty (Danville, Ind.) won his second career national title – his first since 2008 when he was in Boys 2 – with a jump of 183 feet in Men 1. Anna Gay (Winter Garden, Fla.) won her second consecutive Girls 3 national tricks title, scoring 8,970 points. Billy Susi (Orlando, Fla.) won his first career national slalom title, defeating Dave Wingerter (Redmond, Wash.) in a runoff for the Men 2 title. After both athletes tied with a score of 1-1/2 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off, Susi clinched the title in the runoff with a score of 1 buoy at 38 feet off to Wingerter's 1/2 buoy at 38 feet off. Darin Montgomery (Lake Worth, Fla.) won the Men 3 national slalom title, defeating Mark Menasci (Gilbert, Ariz.) in a runoff. After both athletes tied with a score of 4 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off, Montgomery clinched his second career national slalom title – first since 1999 when he was in Men 2 – with a score of 3 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off to Menasci’s 2-1/2 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off. Brooke Baldwin (Windermere, Fla.) won the Girls 3 national overall title, tallying 3,570.1 points. Ellie Horton (Lakeland, Fla.) won the Women 1 national jumping (127 feet) and overall (3,591.4 points) titles.

Thursday's (Day 3) National Champions

Men 3 Slalom: Darin Montgomery (Lake Worth, Fla.), 4 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off; Women 4 Slalom: Lori Krueger (Martindale, Texas), 5 buoys at 35 feet off; Men 2 Slalom: Billy Susi (Orlando, Fla.), 1-1/2 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off; Men 4 Slalom: Don Aschenbrenner (Cornelius, N.C.), 1/2 buoy at 41 feet off; Girls 3 Tricks: Anna Gay (Winter Garden, Fla.), 8,970 points; Girls 3 Jumping: Abbi Grathwohl (Martindale, Texas), 124 feet; Girls 3 Overall: Brooke Baldwin (Windermere, Fla.), 3,570.1 points; Women 1 Tricks: Kara MacIntyre (Knoxville, Tenn.), 6,170 points; Women 1 Jumping and Overall: Ellie Horton (Lakeland, Fla.), 127 feet/3,591.4 points; Women 5 Tricks: Joy Kelley (Loudon, Tenn.), 3,870 points; Women 5 Slalom: Carol Brooks (Canyon Lake, Calif.), 5 buoys at 35 feet off; Men 1 Tricks: Cole McCormick (Dundee, Fla.), 5,400 points; Men 2 Tricks: Stephen Seal (Panama City, Fla.), 4,830 points; Women 2 Tricks: Susie Davis (Milford, Va.), 5,190 points; Men 1 Jumping: Briant Detty (Danville, Ind.), 183 feet; and Women 2 Jumping: Erin Kalkbrenner (St. Charles, Mo.), 125 feet.

The tournament continues Friday at 8:00 a.m. Admission is free and the public is welcome to attend.

The first national championships was held in 1939 at Jones Beach in Long Island, N.Y. Except for three years during World War II (1942-1944), the Nationals has been held every year since 1939.