3-Event Water SkiingShow SkiingCollegiate SkiingWakeboardingBarefootingSki RacingHydrofoilingKneeboardingDisabled Skiing
Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow

72nd GOODE Water Ski National Championships

Aug. 11-16, 2014

          San Marcos, Texas       

Seven Athletes Win Titles On Weather-Shortened Day 1

The 72nd annual GOODE Water Ski National Championships kicked off Monday at the San Marcos River Ranch near San Marcos, Texas, with seven athletes winning titles in respective events. For results, click here.

Wind and lightning halted the competition shortly after 5 p.m. (CDT) with the Men 1 jumping event on the water and the Open Men jumping to follow. With almost two hours of competition remaining in the day, chief judge Keith Lindemulder met with the tournament’s chief officials at 6 p.m. (CDT) and made the decision to postpone the remaining events until Tuesday.

Tuesday’s schedule has now been changed to accommodate the unfinished skiing from Monday. The changes are as follows:

Girls 3 tricks and Open Women tricks will be moved to Lake 2 and will take place after Boys 2 slalom. Men 1 slalom will move to Lake 3 and will take place after Boys 1 slalom. The remainder of Men 1 jumping and the entire Open Men jumping event will run on Lake 1 after Boys 3 tricks. Girls 2 jumping, Open Women jumping and Boys 3 jumping will take place at the conclusion of Open Men jumping.

More than 600 water ski athletes from across the United States are competing for national titles in slalom, tricks, jumping and overall in respective age divisions and two Open divisions during the six-day tournament that culminates Saturday.

Advancement to the Water Ski National Championships – the world’s largest three-event water ski tournament – is primarily earned through placement on the national rankings list. Athletes also can qualify for Nationals by placing in the top-five at Regionals or by placing in the top-five at the previous year’s Nationals.

Among the highlights on Day 1: Taylor Garcia (Winter Garden, Fla.) won the Boys 3 national slalom title – his first career national slalom title – following a run-off with top-seeded and defending champion Daniel Di Pol (Covington, La.). After both skiers tied with scores of 2 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off, Garcia won the title with a score of 2 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off in the runoff to Di Pol’s ½-buoy at 38 feet off. Regina Jaquess (Santa Rosa Beach, Fla.), the current women’s slalom world record holder, won the Open Women national slalom title for the second consecutive year, scoring 6 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off. Garrett Stallings (Rossville, Tenn.) won the Boys 2 national tricks title for the second consecutive year, scoring 5,480 points. Russell Gay (Winter Garden, Fla.) won his 11th career national tricks title, winning Open Men tricks with a score of 10,670 points.

Monday's (Day 1) National Champions

Boys 2 Tricks: Garrett Stallings (Rossville, Tenn.), 5,480 points; Men 1 Tricks: Sam Greenwood (Little Rock, Ark.), 5,260 points; Open Men Tricks: Russell Gay (Winter Garden, Fla.), 10,670 points; Boys 2 Jumping: William Roberts (Dow, Ill.), 111 feet; Girls 1 Slalom: Karli Whetstone (Princeton, Texas), 2 buoys at 28 feet off; Open Women Slalom: Regina Jaquess (Santa Rosa Beach, Fla.), 6 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off; and Boys 3 Slalom: Taylor Garcia (Winter Garden, Fla.), 2 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off.

Competition continues Tuesday at 7:30 a.m. Admission is free and the public is welcome to attend.

The first national championships was held in 1939 at Jones Beach in Long Island, N.Y. Except for three years during World War II (1942-1944), the Nationals has been held every year since 1939.