Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow

Mills Wins 2018 Queens Cup Title

Chelsea Mills (Cornelius, N.C.) defeated Lori Krueger-Covington (Martindale, Texas) in the head-to-head final to win the third annual SportsInsurance.com Queens Cup on Sunday at Little Mountain Lakes near Charlotte, N.C.

Mills, skiing on her home lake, ran 4-½ buoys at 38 feet off, topping Covington’s 3 buoys at 38 feet off in the final, and claimed the $2,000 first-place check. The Queens Cup, also sponsored by Race City Marine and the Women’s Sports Foundation, was originally scheduled for Sept. 15-16 but was postponed because of Hurricane Florence.

Mills was the No. 1 seed throughout the two rounds of Saturday qualifying and Sunday’s Sweet 16. Covington was seeded third throughout and defeated No 2 seed Joy Kelley (Loudon, Tenn.) in the final four, running 1¼ at 38 off to Kelley’s 1 at 38.

Mills and Covington are Masters Women skiers, and Kelley skis in the Women 6 age group.

The Queens Cup is for women ages 30 and older, and uses a format that allows all ages to compete on equal footing. The event included five Women 7 skiers (ages 65-69), and four of them made the Sweet 16.

Rounding out the money winners and podium finishers were Trish Burt of Florida in fourth place and Erin Peckham of New York in fifth. The rest of the elite eight were Jennifer Wood of South Carolina in sixth place, legendary Leza Harrison, a Women 7 skier from Florida in seventh, and Marla Lott of Indiana in eighth place.

Tournament directors were Jeff Gilbert and Mills, who put countless hours into securing sponsors at every level, putting together gift bags for all skiers and special cash and merchandise awards for the three who ran the highest scores above their averages. Those three were led by Selena Stowe of North Carolina, who won a Connelly GT-R ski, $300 cash and several gifts from sponsors. The others were Yvonne Austin of Ohio and Ellen Bennett of Florida, who also won cash and prizes.

Skiers came from 10 states: Washington, Texas, Indiana, Ohio, Michigan, New York, Florida, Tennessee, North Carolina and South Carolina.
























What is RSS?