Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow

Rock Aqua Jays Win Show Ski Nationals

The Rock Aqua Jays (Janesville, Wis.) won the national team title at the 44th Indmar Marine Engines Division 1 Show Ski National Championships, presented by Polk County Tourism and Sports Marketing, Aug. 10-12, on the Rock River at Traxler Park in Janesville, Wis. The Rock Aqua Jays earned high-scoring awards for dock and equipment personnel, pick-up boat crew, towboat driving, high individual club act, barefooting, strap doubles, pyramid and jumping on their way to tallying a grand total 2,115.04 points and winning their 20th national title in the history of the event, and first since 2014.

The Mad-City Ski Team (Madison, Wis.) finished second with 1,760 points. The Wonder Lake Water Ski Show Team (Wonder Lake, Ill.) with 1,706.47 points, Aquanuts (Twin Lakes, Wis.) with 1,593.66 points, and Twin Cities River Rats (Minneapolis, Minn.) with 1,548.12 points rounded out the top-five placements, respectively.

The tournament featured 14 teams and more than 1,500 athletes competing for the coveted show ski national title. In competitive show skiing, each club has one hour to present a theatrical performance on water skis. Judges score acts by awarding points based on originality, presentation and execution. Elaborate costumes and staging intermix with music and fast action on the water as an announcer leads the audience through the show.

The Aquanuts’ Kailey Koehler (Lake Geneva, Wis.) and the Backwater Gamblers’ David Claver (Moline, Ill.) won the Willa Cook and Skip Gilkerson awards, respectively. The awards are given to the tournament’s top female and male performers, as voted on by the tournament officials.

In addition to the overall team competition, athletes competed individually in swivel, strap doubles, freestyle jumping and team jumping. Madi Hagemann (Janesville, Wis.) won the swivel title, scoring 16.50 points; Cory Krivitz (Hartland, Wis.) and Kimberly Stoner (Hartland, Wis.) won doubles, scoring 17.14 points; the Rock Aqua Jays (Janesville, Wis.) won team jumping, scoring 82.40 points; and Liam Klotzbach (Muskego, Wis.) won freestyle jumping, scoring 667.0 points.

For complete results, visit http://www.usawaterski.org/pages/divisions/showski/2018D1ShowSkiNationalsResults.pdf. To view the webcast archives, visit https://www.facebook.com/USAWaterski/






















What is RSS?