Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow

National Junior Water Ski Team Selected

Will RobertsTop junior water ski athletes from across the nation have been selected to the American Water Ski Association’s National Junior Water Ski Team. The 13 selections from the Boys/Girls 2 (13 and under) and Boys/Girls 3 (17 and under) divisions were based on performances during the 2017 tournament season.

Using selection criteria pre-approved by the American Water Ski Association’s board of directors, the top-13 athletes were named as National Junior Water Ski Team members by AWSA’s International Activities Committee. The team will not represent the United States in any international competitions, but several of the athletes are expected to compete in the 2018 Nautique Junior Masters Water Ski Tournament, 2018 Junior U.S. Open Water Ski Championships and 2018 Junior Water Ski World Championships.

As an added bonus, the following sponsors have added their support by donating valuable goods and services to the 13-member National Junior Water Ski Team: Jack Travers’ International Tournament Skiing, GOODE Ski Technologies, D3 Water Skis, Coble Water Ski School & Wakeboard Camp and Scot & Marion Ellis “Ski with the Rockets.” Respective team members can contact Hutch Haines at hutchhaines@aol.com for additional information.

The 2017 performances from the entire roster of Boys/Girls 2 and 3 are considered when applying the selection criteria contained in the IAC approved Junior Team Qualifications and Procedures document. After all rankings list scores are compared to the Highest Performance Standards for slalom, tricks and jumping in both Boys and Girls, the best seven three-event skiers are selected (limited to four of one gender). The remaining five members are chosen based on the best two-event scores. If a skier sets a benchmark score for any event but does not otherwise make the team, an extra team member is added.

Selected to the 2018 National Junior Water Ski Team were (alphabetical order): Brooke Baldwin (Windermere, Fla.), Kristen Baldwin (Windermere, Fla.), Zachary Butterfield (Sherman, Texas), Ryan Gay (Winter Garden, Fla.), Taylor Grathwohl (Martindale, Texas), Kennedy Hansen (Milton, Fla.), Blake Keller (New Hartford, Conn.), Jonathan Leutz (Jacksonville, Ill.), Garrett Reese (Walnut Creek, Calif.), William Roberts (Dow, Ill.), Brett Stackpole (Dow, Ill.), Garrett Stallings (Rossville, Tenn.) and Sean Hunter (Dothan, Ala.).

The selections to the 24-member National Junior Development Water Ski Team are not yet available.
























What is RSS?