Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow

Louisiana-Monroe Wins Collegiate Nationals

The University of Louisiana-Monroe water ski team won the Division 1 national title at the 39th Connelly Skis Collegiate Water Ski National Championships, Oct. 19-21, at Bennett’s Water Ski & Wakeboard School in Zachary, La. The Warhawks tallied 12,165 points in winning their second consecutive and 28th overall national team title since the inception of the tournament in 1979. Louisiana-Lafayette finished second with 11,930 points. Alabama, which tallied 11,880 points, placed third. Florida Southern College finished fourth with 11,240 points and Rollins College was fifth with 9,150 points.

The Nationals included 12 teams in Division 1 and 12 teams in Division 2. National team champions were declared in both divisions. Individual medals for slalom, tricks and jumping were awarded based on athletes' placements within their division. Overall titles were awarded in each division to athletes competing in all three events. Athletes finishing in the top-five in each event of slalom, tricks, jumping and overall in Division 1 earned All-American honors.

The Division 1 field was comprised of: Alabama, Clemson, Florida Southern, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisiana-Monroe, Michigan State, Ohio State, Rollins, San Diego State, Texas A&M, Western Washington and Wisconsin.

Athletes winning individual national titles in Division 1 were: Louisiana-Monroe’s Hanna Straltsova (Belarus), women’s slalom (3-1/2 buoys at 38 feet off), jumping (159 feet) and overall (1,770 points); Rollins College’s Erika Lang (Gilbert, Ariz.), women’s tricks (6,110 points); Louisiana-Monroe’s Frederick Winter (Great Britain), men’s slalom (2-1/2 buoys at 41 feet off); Rollins College’s Dorien Llewellyn (Canada), men’s tricks (6,170 points); and Louisiana-Monroe’s Taylor Garcia (Winter Garden, Fla.), men’s jumping (188 feet) and overall (1,630 points).

Straltsova’s winning jump distance of 159 feet is a pending National Collegiate Water Ski Association record. If approved by the NCWSA, the record will surpass the 157-foot mark set by U.S. athlete Lauren Morgan at the same site during the 2011 Collegiate Nationals. Lang’s winning tricks score of 6,110 points also is a pending NCWSA women’s tricks record. If approved, the record will surpass the mark of 5,960 points set by Lang at the 2015 Collegiate Nationals in Cypress, Texas.

To view the complete Division 1 scorebook, visit: https://www.usawaterski.org/pages/divisions/collegiate/18U035CS.HTM.

The Division 2 field was comprised of Arizona State, Auburn, Cal Poly, Cincinnati, Kansas, Iowa State, Miami University of Ohio, Michigan, Texas, Texas State, UCLA and Wisconsin-La Crosse.

Miami University of Ohio won the Division 2 title for the second consecutive year, scoring 8,940 points. Texas State finished second with 7,630 points. Kansas (7,385 points), Wisconsin-La Crosse (7,360 points) and Michigan (7,250 points) rounded out the top-five placements.

Athletes winning individual national titles in Division 2 were: Cal Poly’s Kyla Jo Miller (Lake Stevens, Wash.), women’s jumping (81 feet); Kansas’ Abigail Hamilton (Bucyrus, Kan.), women’s tricks (1,040 points); Texas State’s Ruth McCreary (Azle, Texas), women’s slalom (3 buoys at 32 feet off); Texas State’s Sarah Stevenson (Conroe, Texas), women’s overall (1,265 points); and Texas State’s Nathan Kelm (Katy, Texas), men’s slalom (3 buoys at 35 feet off), tricks (1,610 points), jumping (147 feet) and overall (1,700 points).

To view the complete Division 2 scorebook, visit: https://www.usawaterski.org/pages/divisions/collegiate/18U036CS.HTM























What is RSS?