Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow

13 Athletes Win National Ski Racing Titles

Kane Kennedy of Skyforest, Calif., won titles in Men's Open, Men's Outboard and the 60 MPH Open divisions.Thirteen water ski racing athletes won titles at the 13th annual U.S. Open Water Ski Racing National Championships, Oct. 7-8, at Havasu Springs in Parker, Ariz. The National Water Ski Racing Association, a sport discipline organization of USA Water Ski, hosted the two-day competition. More than 40 athletes competed in two rounds of circle-sprint races. The athletes drew for pole positions, made a deep-water start at the drop of a green flag and raced in lanes for a designated number of laps. Athletes competed for titles in 17 divisions. Overall placements were determined by total number of points. In the event of a tie, total race time broke the tie.

Among the highlights, Kane Kennedy (Skyforest, Calif.) won the Menís Open title, while Katelin Wendt (Rim Forest, Calif.) won the Womenís Open title. Kennedy also won the Menís Outboard and 60 MPH Open divisions, while Wendt also won the Womenís Outboard title.

Other athletes earning U.S. Open titles in respective divisions were: Julia Williams (Long Beach, Calif.), 16 and Under Girls; Rex Helm (Porter Ranch, Calif.), 16 and Under Boys and Hands Out Front; Katie Heinbuch (Carlsbad, Calif.), Womenís Novice; Tyler Murray (El Segundo, Calif.), 17-29 Men; Erica Leonard (Carlsbad, Calif.), 30 & Over Women; Justin Legere (Camarillo, Calif.), 30-49 Men; Nick Randel (Bakersfield, Calif.), GrassRoots; Dave Chandler (Henderson, Nev.), Stock Boat and 50-60 Men; Travis Barron (Lake Havasu City, Ariz.), Social/Pro-Social; and Chris Ables (Beaumont, Calif.) and Scott Van Sickle (Buena Park, Calif.), Menís Novice (tie).

Steve Davis (Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.) and Corbin Heinbuch (Carlsbad, Calif.) won the high-point driver and observer awards, respectively.

For complete results, click here (PDF).























What is RSS?