Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow

Jaquess, Krueger Win Malibu Open Titles

U.S. athlete Regina Jaquess won her sixth consecutive Malibu Open slalom title. Photography by Scott N. AtkinsonU.S. water ski athletes Regina Jaquess (Santa Rosa Beach, Fla.) and Freddy Krueger (Winter Garden, Fla.) won titles in respective events at the 2017 Malibu Open Water Ski Championships, Sept. 29-30, at Trophy Lakes Sports in Johns Island, S.C. Events included professional slalom, jumping and overall. The finals in professional men's and women's slalom featured head-to-head pairings. A separate professional men's cash-prize night jump also took place on Saturday evening.

Jaquess won titles in women’s slalom and overall, and finished second in jumping. Krueger won the men’s jumping title and the Malibu Night Jump.

Jaquess won the women's slalom title in the head-to-head final against Canada's Whitney McClintock, scoring 1 buoy at 39-1/2 feet off to McClintock’s 4-1/2 buoys at 38 feet off. It was Jaquess’ sixth consecutive Malibu Open slalom title. U.S. athletes Karen Truelove (Winter Garden, Fla.) and Brooke Baldwin (Windermere, Fla.) placed third and fourth, respectively.

Jaquess won the women's overall competition, tallying 2,839.29 points after scoring 3 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off in slalom, 7,990 points in tricks and a personal best distance of 181 feet in jumping. Belarus' Natallia Berdnikava finished second, scoring 2,828.08 points.

Krueger won men's jumping with a distance of 234 feet. U.S. athletes Zack Worden (Orlando, Fla.), Scot Ellis (Auburndale, Fla.) and Taylor Garcia (Winter Garden, Fla.) rounded out the top-four placements with distances of 220 feet, 220 feet and 214 feet, respectively.

Berdnikava won women’s jumping with a distance of 179 feet. Jaquess placed second with a distance of 176 feet, and U.S. athletes Lauren Morgan (Seattle, Wash.) and Baldwin placed fourth and sixth, respectively.

Great Britain’s Freddie Winter won the men's slalom title in the head-to-head final against U.S. athlete Jon Travers (Groveland, Fla.), scoring 6 buoys at 41 feet off to Travers’ 1-1/2 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off.

Chile’s Felipe Miranda won the men’s overall title, tallying 2,807.30 points after scoring 5 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off in slalom, 8,630 points in tricks and 209 feet in jumping.

In the Junior Malibu Open, Brooke Baldwin won U17 women's slalom (4 buoys at 38 feet off); Kristen Baldwin (Windermere, Fla.) won U17 women's jumping (123 feet); Sean Hunter (Dothan, Ala.) won U17 men's slalom (3 buoys at 38 feet off); and Will Roberts (Dow, Ill.) won U17 men's jumping with a personal best distance of 176 feet.

For complete results, click here.

In the Malibu Night Jump, Krueger soared 218 feet to take the title. Ellis (215 feet) and Worden (212 feet) rounded out the top-three placements. For complete results, click here.

Originally scheduled to take place in August at Veteran’s Park in Milwaukee, Wis., the discovery of a blue algae bloom led the Milwaukee Health Department to cancel all activity on the Milwaukee Lagoon due to health and safety concerns. Trophy Lakes Sports, which boasts a world-class slalom course, quickly stepped in as a replacement site and an ideal location for the long-running skiing championship.

The Malibu Response TXi was the exclusive towboat of the 2017 Malibu Open, Malibu Junior Open and Malibu Night Jump.





















What is RSS?