Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow

Sarasota Ski-A-Rees Win Show Ski Nationals

The Sarasota Ski-A-Rees (Sarasota, Fla.) won the national team title at the 43rd Indmar Marine Engines Division 1 Show Ski National Championships, presented by Polk County Tourism and Sports Marketing, Aug. 11-13, on the Rock River at Shorewood Park in Loves Park, Ill. Sarasota, making its first appearance at the Show Ski Nationals since 1998, earned high-scoring awards for showmanship, sound crew total, overall show, ballet, star doubles, swivel and jump on its way to tallying a grand total 2,032.56 points and winning its first national title in the history of the event. Teams from Wisconsin, Illinois and Minnesota had combined to win the previous 42 national team titles.

The defending champion Wonder Lake Water Ski Show Team (Wonder Lake, Ill.), which earned top awards for pick-up boat crews, barefoot, pyramid and high individual club act, finished second with 1,850.4 points. The Rock Aqua Jays (Janesville, Wis.), which earned the high score for dock and equipment personnel, finished in third place (1,798.28 points), while the Mad-City Ski Team (Madison, Wis.), which had the high score for towboat driving, placed fourth (1,794.92 points).

The tournament featured 14 teams and more than 1,500 athletes competing for the coveted show ski national title. In competitive show skiing, each club has one hour to present a theatrical performance on water skis. Judges score acts by awarding points based on originality, presentation and execution. Elaborate costumes and staging intermix with music and fast action on the water as an announcer leads the audience through the show.

The Sarasota Ski-A-Reesí Darian LeBlanc (Palm Harbor, Fla.) and the Wonder Lake Water Ski Show Teamís Dan Hansen (Wonder Lake, Ill.) won the Willa Cook and Skip Gilkerson awards, respectively. The awards are given to the tournamentís top female and male performers, as voted on by the tournament officials.

In addition to the overall team competition, athletes competed individually in swivel, adagio doubles, freestyle jumping and team jumping. Madi Hagemann (Janesville, Wis.) won the swivel title, scoring 15.26 points; Kim Stoner (Hartland, Wis.) and Cory Krivitz (Hartland, Wis.) won doubles, scoring 15.26 points; the Sarasota Ski-A-Rees (Sarasota, Fla.) won team jumping, scoring 82.84 points; and Garrett Bouley (Bradenton, Fla.) won freestyle jumping, scoring 887.50 points.

For complete results, click here (PDF). To view the webcast archives, visit https://www.facebook.com/USAWaterski/.†





















What is RSS?