Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow

U.S. Earns Silver Medal At Ski Racing Worlds

The United States earned the overall silver medal and two U.S. athletes earned individual silver medals in respective divisions at the 20th Water Ski Racing World Championships, July 29-Aug. 5, on the Puget Sound at Point Ruston in Tacoma, Wash. Australia won the gold and Austria earned the bronze.

Water ski racing athletes from seven countries competed in six divisions – Men's Formula 1 (Open), Women's Formula 1 (Open), Junior Boys, Junior Girls, Men's Formula 2 and Women's Formula 2 – for world titles at the biennial event. Men's Formula 1 and Formula 2 competitors raced for 1 hour, plus 1 lap; Women's Open and Formula 2 competitors raced for 45 minutes, plus 1 lap; and Junior Boys and Girls raced for 30 minutes, plus 1 lap.

The federation overall standings were determined by the top-four placements (regardless of division) from each of the four rounds of racing. Individual overall placements were determined from the athletes' three best rounds of the four rounds of racing. Australia swept the team and individual overall gold medals.

Members of the 2017 U.S. Formula 1 Water Ski Racing Team were: Todd Haig (Redlands, Calif.), Cameron King (Redondo Beach, Calif.), Justin Legere (Camarillo, Calif.), Erica Leonard (Carlsbad, Calif.) and Katelin Wendt (Rim Forest, Calif.). 

Haig, the 2005 world champion, earned the silver medal in Formula 1 Men, tallying 2,966.42 points points, after recording two second-place finishes and a third place. Australia’s Benjamin Gulley won the gold medal for the first time in his career after winning the first three races (3,000.0 points), and Australia’s Dan Graziano earned the bronze (2,940.21 points). King and Legere placed sixth and seventh, respectively. In Formula 1 Women, Australia’s Chelsea Blight won the gold medal after sweeping the first three races. Austria’s Kathrin Ortleib earned the silver and Australia’s Shantelle King earned the bronze. Wendt, the 2011 world champion, and Leonard placed fourth and sixth, respectively.

Members of the 2017 U.S. Formula 2 Water Ski Racing Team were: Kane Kennedy (Skyforest, Calif.), Mary Maher (Fair Oaks, Calif.), Cheryl Ruston (La Palma, Calif.), Amy Threlfall (Palmdale, Calif.), Martie Wells (Colton, Calif.) and Trevor Wendt (Huntington Beach, Calif.). 

Wells, the 2003 Formula 1 world champion, earned the silver medal in Formula 2 Men, tallying 2,924.95 points after recording three second-place finishes. Australia’s Cameron Osborne won the gold medal (3,000.0 points) and Australia’s Jack Harrison earned the bronze medal (2,886.91 points. Kennedy and Wendt placed fifth and seventh, respectively. Australia’s Ellen Jones (2991.11 points), Karen White (2,988.90 points) and Ashlee Cuff (2,727.14 points) won the gold, silver and bronze medals, respectively, in Formula 1 Women. Threlfall, Maher and Ruston placed fourth, fifth and sixth, respectively.

Members of the 2017 U.S. Junior Water Ski Racing Team were: Mason Goldsmith (Huntington Beach, Calif.), Rex Helm (Porter Ranch, Calif.), Mathew Klee (Harbor City, Calif.) and Julia Williams (Long Beach, Calif.).

Australia’s Luke Harrison (3,000.0 points), Brock McMillan (2,968.29 points) and Max Duckworth (2,933.61 points) earned the gold, silver and bronze medals, respectively. Helm, Goldsmith and Klee placed fourth, sixth and eighth, respectively. Australia’s Milana Long (3,000.0 points), Nellie McMillan (2,936.06 points) and Grace Jones (2,931.71 points) won the gold, silver and bronze medals, respectively, in Junior Girls. Williams placed fourth.

Bob Nixon (Boulder City, Nev.) served as the team captain and Julia Kennedy (Skyforest, Calif.) was the assistant team captain.

Drivers for the U.S. teams were: Mike Avila (Campbell, Calif.), Jeff Barrus (Long Beach, Calif.), Randy Davis (Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.), Steve Davis (Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.), Rob Ettinger (Orange, Calif.), Carl Goldsmith (Huntington Beach, Calif.), Craig Gregory (Newport Beach, Calif.), Carl Johnson (Fountain Valley, Calif.) and Wayne Murray (El Segundo, Calif.). Observers were: Dennis Hall (Alta Loma, Calif.), Ted Hofmann (Torrance, Calif.), Mike King (Claremont, Calif.), Andy Klee (Harbor City, Calif.), Ken Kramer (Redlands, Calif.), Brian Vesely (Lake Havasu City, Ariz.), Darrel Weatherford (Lakewood, Calif.), Rick White (Seal Beach, Calif.), Bryin Yedor (Placentia, Calif.) and Kevin Yedor (Placentia, Calif.).To view complete team and individual results, visit: http://www.usawaterski.org/pages/divisions/skirace/2017waterskiracingworldchampionshipsresults.pdf.

To view webcast archives of all races and awards presentations, visit: https://www.facebook.com/US-Water-Ski-Racing-Team-264360436927161/.





















What is RSS?