Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow

Aquaducks Win D2 Show Ski Nationals

The Brown's Lake Aquaducks (Burlington, Wis.) won the team title at the 17th Division 2 Show Ski National Championships, Aug. 5-6, at Kwhamot Bay in Tomahawk, Wis. Hosted by the Kwahamot Water Ski Club, the tournament featured seven teams competing for the Division 2 show ski national title. The Division 2 Show Ski National Championships is comprised of teams and/or individuals not qualified by their respective regions for next weekend’s 43rd Indmar Marine Engines Division 1 Show Ski National Championships, presented by Polk County Tourism & Sports Marketing.

In competitive show skiing, each club has one hour to present a theatrical performance on water skis. Judges score the acts by awarding points based on originality, presentation and execution. Elaborate costumes and staging intermix with music and fast action on the water as an announcer leads the audience through the show.

Brown’s Lake, which also won the 2005 Division 2 national title, earned high-scoring awards for pick-up boat crews, towboat driving, showmanship, doubles, swivel and pyramid on their way to totaling 1,426.77 points. The Waterboard Warriors (Wrightstown, Wis.) finished a very close second, scoring 1,423.6 points after earning high-scoring awards for dock and equipment personnel and ballet. The Silver Lake Water Ski Club (Fenton, Mich.) placed third with 1,326.53 points after earning high-scoring awards for sound crew total and overall show.

The winners of the Best Female and Male skier awards (sponsored by Cathy and Gerry Luiting, Show Ski Solutions) were Carmen Ledger (Elkhorn, Wis.) of the Brown’s Lake Aquaducks and CJ Dinse (De Pere, Wis.) of the Waterboard Warriors.

The Division 2 Show Ski National Championships also featured athletes competing individually in adagio doubles, swivel and team jumping acts.

Molly Schaefer (Wausau, Wis.) won swivel, scoring 14.74 points; Matthew Hobbie (Savage, Minn.) and Katelyn Davis (Bloomington, Minn.) won doubles with 12.37 points; and the Silver Lake Water Ski Club (Fenton, Mich.) won team jumping, tallying 56.00 points.

Webcast archives can be viewed at http://www.facebook.com/USAWaterSki. For complete results, click here (PDF).





















What is RSS?