Water SkiingShow SkiingCollegiate SkiingWakeboardingBarefootingSki RacingHydrofoilingKneeboardingDisabled Skiing
Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow
Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow

ULM Wins Collegiate National Title

The University of Louisiana-Monroe water ski team won the Division 1 national title at the 35th Collegiate Water Ski National Championships, Oct. 17-19, at Imperial Lakes near El Centro, Calif. The Warhawks tallied 12,885 points in winning their third consecutive national title and 25th title in the history of the event. The University of Louisiana-Lafayette finished second, scoring 12,610 points.

The competition included 12 teams in Division 1 and 11 teams in Division 2. National team champions were declared in both divisions. Individual medals for slalom, tricks and jumping were awarded based on athletes' placements within their division. Overall titles were awarded in each division to athletes competing in all three events.

The Division 1 field was comprised of Alabama, Arizona State, Cincinnati, Florida Southern, Grand Valley State, Kansas, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisiana-Monroe, Miami of Ohio, Michigan State, Rollins and Wisconsin.

Alabama finished third with 10,330 points. Rollins was fourth with 9,925 points and Florida Southern placed fifth with 9,045 points.

Athletes winning individual national titles in Division 1 were: Florida Southern’s Ellie Horton (Moorpark, Calif.), women’s tricks (3,510 points); Louisiana-Lafayette’s Giannina Bonnemann (Dortmund, Germany), women’s slalom (1/2-buoy at 38 feet off) and overall (1,705 points); Louisiana-Lafayette’s Taryn Grant (Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada), women’s jumping (141 feet); Florida Southern’s K.C. Wilson (Winter Springs, Fla.), men’s slalom (5 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off); Louisiana-Monroe’s James Earl (Solihull, United Kingdom), men’s tricks (6,120 points); Louisiana-Monroe’s Claudio Köstenberger  (Satendorf, Karnten, Austria), men’s jumping (189 feet); and Louisiana-Monroe’s Martin Kolman (Prague, Czech Republic), men’s overall (1,660 points).

To view the Division 1 scorebook, click here.

The Division 2 field was comprised of Auburn, Clemson, Chico State, Iowa State, Louisiana State, North Carolina, San Diego State, Texas State, UC Davis, UCLA and Western Washington.

UC Davis won the Division 2 title, scoring 6,930 points. Western Washington finished second with 6,315 points. Texas State (6,085 points), San Diego State (6,070 points) and Clemson (6,055 points) rounded out the top-five placements.

Athletes winning individual national titles in Division 2 were: San Diego State’s Robert Morris (San Diego, Calif.), men’s jumping (147 feet), tricks (3,210 points) and overall (1,290 points); UC Davis’ Ryan Nason (Yuba City, Calif.), men’s slalom (1 buoy at 39-1/2 feet off); Western Washington’s Jaye Morris (San Diego, Calif.), women’s jumping (121 feet), slalom (3 buoys at 32 feet off) and overall (1,290 points); and North Carolina’s Kelsie Mitchell (Elizabeth City, N.C.), women’s tricks (1,560 points).

To view the Division 2 scorebook, click here.


























What is RSS?