Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow

AWSEF Announces Scholarship Recipients

The American Water Ski Educational Foundation (AWSEF) is proud to announce the recipients of the 2013 Scholarship Awards. The following eight individuals have shown considerable commitment to the sport of water skiing and the academic arena. They also demonstrate a high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond.

Emily Van Treese (Oxford, Ohio), a junior at Miami University, is the 2013 recipient of the $3,000 Jim Grew/Barbara Bolding Scholarship. Majoring in Communications, Van Treese was elected student communication coordinator for the Miami University honors program and womenís team captain of the water ski team. She led her team to a historic win at Regionals where she set the Midwest Collegiate Water Ski Associationís womenís tricks record, becoming the first female in MCWSA history to break 2,000 points at the Regionals. Her honors include Miami University Female Athlete of the Year, NCWSA Female Outstanding Leader of the Year and MCWSA Female Most Valuable Skier for 2012.

Jenna Gilbert (West Lafayette, Ind.), a junior at Purdue University, is the recipient of the $1,500 MasterCraft Scholarship. Gilbert has chosen doctor of Pharmacy as her major while she works part time as a pharmacy student technician. She was elected womenís captain of the Purdue water ski team in 2012 and is currently serving as the teamís recruitment chair.

Robert Morris (San Diego, Calif.), a junior at San Diego State University, is the recipient of the $1,500 Western Region/Big Al Wagner Scholarship. Majoring in Electrical Engineering, Morris is the team captain for the San Diego State University water ski team. He was the regional overall champion for the Western Regionals collegiate tournament and placed first overall at the 2012 Division 2 Nationals.

Jennifer Lynn Kaldor (La Crosse, Wis.), a sophomore at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, is the recipient of the $1,500 Jean Downes Scholarship. Kaldor applied her Marketing major this year taking on the role of ambassador for the 2013 Malibu Open Festival in Milwaukee. She is currently a senior-rated judge for the American Water Ski Association and a USA Water Ski Level 1 coach certified instructor.

K.C. Wilson (Winter Springs, Fla.), a sophomore at Florida Southern College, is the recipient of the $1,500 Southern Region/Elmer Stailing Scholarship. Majoring in Business Management, Wilson aspires to become involved in the business aspect of water skiing through sales and product development. He is currently captain of the Florida Southern water ski team.

Kendra Brooks (Ames, Iowa), a sophomore at Iowa State University, is the recipient of the $1,500 Correct Craft Scholarship. Brooks, a Wisconsin native, is majoring in Animal Ecology. She volunteers in an on-campus research lab as she works toward being a field biologist with a focus on exotic animals. Brooks is also the vice president of the Iowa State Water Ski Club.

Landen Ehlers (College Station, Texas), a junior at Texas A&M University, is the recipient of the $1,500 Jennifer Odom,/David Kammerer Memorial Scholarship. In addition to his excellent work in core academics majoring in Construction Science, Ehlers was vice president of the Texas A&M water ski team and won the Men 1 national overall title at the 2012 Barefoot Water Ski National Championships.

Jennifer Boeckmann (Menomonie, Wis.), a senior at the University of Wisconsin-Stout, is the recipient of the $1,500 Tim Olson Memorial Scholarship. Boeckmann is majoring in Health, Wellness & Fitness and is a member of the University of Wisconsin-Stout water ski team. She has served as vice president and secretary of her water ski team, in addition to establishing the first Alumni Club for water skiers.

The AWSEF scholarships are supported by contributions from individuals, corporations and families. For more information on how to fund a scholarship, contact the AWSEF.

The AWSEF, parent organization of the Water Ski Hall of Fame and Museum, was founded in 1968 as a non-profit foundation dedicated to the preservation of the traditions of one of America's most popular family recreational activities and to the encouragement of and education in the safe enjoyment of water skiing.

Applicants must be United States citizens; incoming sophomore through senior level, full-time students at a two- or four-year accredited college; and an active member of USA Water Ski.

Persons interested in applying for an AWSEF scholarship should contact AWSEF Scholarship, 1251 Holy Cow Road, Polk City, FL 33868-8200. Applications can be downloaded from www.waterskihalloffame.com. Click on the "scholarship" link to get a copy of the application.
















USA Water Ski

Powered by Conduit Mobile






What is RSS?