Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow

AWSEF Scholarship Winners Announced

The American Water Ski Educational Foundation (AWSEF) Scholarship and Financial Aid Committee has announced the awarding of five college scholarships in the amount of $1,500 each, and the Barbara Bolding/Jim Grew Scholarship in the amount of $3,000.

Caroline Hensley (Hixson, Tenn.), a junior at the University of Alabama, is the recipient of the $3,000 Barbara Bolding/Jim Grew Scholarship for the second time. She was the recipient of the Southern Region-Elmer Stailing Scholarship in 2010. A chemical engineering major, she serves as treasurer for the Alabama water ski team and earned a spot on the six-member U.S. Elite Water Ski Team representing the United States at the 2011 Water Ski World Championships in Dubna, Russia.

Emily Van Treese (Sidney, Ohio), a sophomore at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, is receiving the Jean Downes Memorial Scholarship. She is majoring in communications and is actively working on her scoring credit to become an official at collegiate water ski tournaments. She coaches local students both non-competitive and competitive to encourage them to the next level of skiing.†

Hayley Sarow, (Evansville, Wis.), a junior at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater majoring in social work, is receiving the Tim Olson Memorial Scholarship. She is a member of the Rock Aqua Jays Water Ski Show Team.† She participated in teaching clinics at the Wisconsin Water Ski Convention and Expo. She also competes in collegiate three-event water skiing.

Jennifer King, (Dousman, Wis.), a sophomore at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse majoring in elementary/middle education, is receiving the Correct Craft Scholarship. She is the womenís captain for the UW-La Crosse water ski team. While she is a competing team member, she also devotes her time to recruiting new members for the team.

The MasterCraft Scholarship is being awarded to Travis Cappel, (Dallas, Texas). He is a senior at the University of Texas majoring in urban studies. A member of the University of Texas water ski team, he has served as president of the team and tournament director of UTís annual Fall Classic.†

The Jennifer Odom/David Kammerer Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Kyle Bichich, (Issaquah, Wash.). He is a junior at the University of California San Diego majoring in structural engineering. He is a barefoot competitor at the regional level. He has volunteered at the Barefoot Water Ski World Championships, as well as the Regionals and Nationals.

The AWSEF scholarship programs are supported by contributions from individuals, corporations and families that have set up an endowment fund for a scholarship in memory of a loved one. For more information on how to fund a scholarship, contact the AWSEF.

The AWSEF, parent organization of the Water Ski Hall of Fame and Museum, was founded in 1968 as a non-profit foundation dedicated to the preservation of the traditions of one of America's most popular family recreational activities and to the encouragement of and education in the safe enjoyment of water skiing.

Applicants must be a United States citizen; incoming sophomore through senior level, full-time students at a two- or four-year accredited college; and an active member of USA Water Ski.†

Persons interested in applying for an AWSEF scholarship should contact AWSEF Scholarship, 1251 Holy Cow Road, Polk City, FL 33868-8200. Applications can be downloaded at www.waterskihalloffame.com.† Simply click on the "scholarship" link to get a copy of the application.
















USA Water Ski

Powered by Conduit Mobile






What is RSS?