3-Event Water SkiingShow SkiingCollegiate SkiingWakeboardingBarefootingSki RacingHydrofoilingKneeboardingAdaptive Skiing
Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow


21 Athletes Win Titles On Final Day Of 77th GOODE Nationals

The 77th annual GOODE Water Ski National Championships concluded Saturday at Okeeheelee Park in West Palm Beach, Fla., with 21 athletes winning titles in respective divisions and events. Nearly 700 water ski athletes from across the United States competed for national titles in slalom, tricks, jumping and overall in respective age divisions and two Open divisions during the five-day tournament. To view the final scorebook, click here.

National overall titles awarded on Saturday were: Men 1: Josh Gardner (Plainfield, Ill.); Men 2: Jonathan Paulovich (Manasquan, N.J.); Men 3: Graham Fizer (Mooresville, N.C.); Men 4: Marc Shaw (Ocoee, Fla.); Masters Men: Jeff Surdej (Wilmington, Ill.); Women 1: Krista Butterfield (Sherman, Texas); Women 2: Monica Seal (Panama City, Fla.); Women 3: Rebecca Bartlett (Wolfeboro, N.H.); Women 4: Jane Greenwood (Little Rock, Ark.); Women 5: Diana Parker (Canyon Lake, Calif.); and Masters Women: Brenda Nichols (Windermere, Fla.).

Saturday’s (Day 5) National Champions

Men 1 Slalom: Brandon Schipper (Prior Lake, Minn.), 3 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off; Men 1 Jumping and Overall: Josh Gardner (Plainfield, Ill.), 160 feet/2,873.50 points; Men 2 Slalom: David Carter (New Smryna, Fla.), 2 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off; Men 2 Overall: Jonathan Paulovich (Manasquan, N.J.),/2,856.10 points; Men 3 Slalom: Shelby Coke (Greenacres, Fla.), 2 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off; Men 3 Jumping and Overall: Graham Fizer (Mooresville, N.C.), 165 feet/2,769.8 points; Men 4 Tricks: Marc Bedsole (Orlando, Fla.), 5,860 points; Men 4 Jumping: Danny Zeisler (Oxford, Conn.), 167 feet; Men 4 Overall: Marc Shaw (Ocoee, Fla.), 2,909.0 points; Masters Men Tricks and Overall: Jeff Surdej (Wilmington, Ill.), 3,490 points/2,593.20 points; Women 1 Tricks and Overall: Krista Butterfield (Sherman, Texas), 6,530 points/3,298.80 points; Women 1 Jumping: Mariah Fields (McQueeney, Texas), 142 feet; Women 2 Tricks: Kristin McClure (Babson Park, Fla.), 2,940 points; Women 2 Overall: Monica Seal (Panama City, Fla.), 2,568.40 points; Women 3 Tricks: Sara Lemley (Largo, Fla.), 4,020 points; Women 3 Overall: Rebecca Bartlett (Wolfeboro, N.H.), 1,987.40 points; Women 4 Slalom: Wanda Case (Madison, N.C.), 2 buoys at 35 feet off; Women 4 Overall: Jane Greenwood (Little Rock, Ark.), 3,552.50 points; Women 5 Tricks: Libby Van Treese (Sidney, Ohio), 2,730 points; Women 5 Overall: Diana Parker (Canyon Lake, Calif.), 254.1 points; and Masters Women Tricks and Overall: Brenda Nichols (Winter Garden, Fla.), 3,620 points/3,283.0 points.

In the fourth annual national team competition, Florida won for the fourth consecutive year, tallying 37,845 points. Northern California finished second (26,260 points), followed by Illinois (24,635 points). The top-two teams from each regional championships qualified for the 77th GOODE Water Ski National Championships, and all skiers of a team, regardless of ranking, could compete on their team at the Nationals. 2016 marked the inaugural year of team skiing in which states and areas formed 3-event teams of five men, five women, and five junior skiers competing in a placement-based NOPS format similar to collegiate water skiing.

For complete results and more information, visit www.waterskinationals.com.

Advancement to the world’s largest three-event water ski tournament was primarily earned through placement on the national rankings list. Athletes also could qualify by placing in the top-five in the previous year’s event or at respective 2019 regional championships. The American Water Ski Association, a sport discipline organization of USA Water Ski & Wake Sports, and the Ski Club of the Palm Beaches hosted the tournament.

The first national championships was held in 1939 at Jones Beach in Long Island, N.Y. Except for three years during World War II (1942-1944), the Nationals has been held every year since 1939.

The 2020 Water Ski National Championships will be held Aug. 4-8 at Okeeheelee Park in West Palm Beach, Fla.