3-Event Water SkiingShow SkiingCollegiate SkiingWakeboardingBarefootingSki RacingHydrofoilingKneeboardingDisabled Skiing
Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow


Day 4 Underway At 76th Of GOODE Nationals

The 76th annual GOODE Water Ski National Championships continued Friday at the Mystic Lakes Ski Club in Maize, Kan. More than 600 water ski athletes from across the United States are competing for national titles in slalom, tricks, jumping and overall in respective age divisions and two Open divisions during the five-day tournament that culminates Saturday.

Advancement to the world’s largest three-event water ski tournament is primarily earned through placement on the national rankings list. Athletes also can qualify for Nationals by placing in the top-five at Regionals or by placing in the top-five at the previous year’s Nationals. The American Water Ski Association, a sport discipline organization of USA Water Ski & Wake Sports, and the Mystic Lakes Ski Club are hosting the tournament.

Friday’s (Day 4) National Champions
Women 3 jumping: TBD; Men 3 jumping: TBD; Open Women jumping: TBD; Open Men jumping: TBD; Men 4 jumping: TBD; Open Women slalom: TBD; Open Men slalom: TBD; Men 4 slalom: TBD; Men 3 slalom: TBD; Masters Women slalom: TBD; Masters Men slalom: TBD; Men 1 tricks: TBD; Men 2 tricks: TBD; Women 1 tricks: TBD; Women 2 tricks: TBD; Women 3 tricks: TBD; Masters Women tricks: TBD; Masters Men tricks: TBD; Women 4 slalom: TBD; Women 3 overall: TBD; Women 4 overall: TBD; Men 3 overall: TBD; Men 4 overall: TBD; Open Women overall: TBD; and Open Men overall: TBD.

The Mystic Lakes Ski Club, which includes three world-record capability water ski lakes, has previously hosted the Midwest Regional Water Ski Championships, Junior U.S. Open Water Ski Championships and Barefoot Water Ski National Championships. It marks the first time that the state of Kansas has hosted the Water Ski National Championships. GOODE Skis, a gold level sponsor of USA Water Ski & Wake Sports, has been the title sponsor of the Nationals since 2000.

Competition continues Saturday at 8 a.m. (CDT). Admission is free and the public is welcome to attend.

The first national championships was held in 1939 at Jones Beach in Long Island, N.Y. Except for three years during World War II (1942-1944), the Nationals has been held every year since 1939.