3-Event Water SkiingShow SkiingCollegiate SkiingWakeboardingBarefootingSki RacingHydrofoilingKneeboardingAdaptive Skiing
Having FUN Today...Building CHAMPIONS For Tomorrow


7 Athletes Win Overall Titles On Day 2 Of 77th GOODE Nationals

The 77th annual GOODE Water Ski National Championships continued Wednesday at Okeeheelee Park in West Palm Beach, Fla., with seven athletes winning national overall titles in respective divisions. Nearly 700 water ski athletes from across the United States are competing for national titles in slalom, tricks, jumping and overall in respective age divisions and two Open divisions during the five-day tournament that culminates Saturday. Wednesday’s action was interrupted by a near 90-minute weather delay. As a result, the Women 6 slalom and Boys 3 slalom divisions were unable to finish. Several schedule changes have been made to Thursday’s events. Boys 3 slalom will finish starting at 7:30 a.m. on the Turnpike Lake. Women 6 slalom will finish starting at 7:30 a.m. on the North-South Lake. Women 6 tricks has been moved to after Men 5 tricks. Women 6 jump has been moved to after Men 7 jump. Women 7 tricks will be before Women 7 jump. Men 5 Group B will ski on the Turnpike Lake after the Big Dawg skiers. Skiers are requested by the Chief Judge to check into the site earlier than usual to ensure there are no further changes to the schedule.

For unofficial live scoring, visit www.waterskiresults.com. To view the unofficial scorebook, click here.

National overall titles awarded on Wednesday were: Open Women Overall: Regina Jaquess (Santa Rosa Beach, Fla.); Open Men Overall: Dylan Schaffer (Owens Cross Roads, Ala.); Girls 1 Overall: Alexia Abelson (Holderness, N.H.); Boys 1 Overall: Freddy Davis (Milford, Va.); Boys 2 Overall: Jake Abelson (Holderness, N.H.); Girls 2 Overall: Alana Jones (Church Point, La.); and Men 6 Overall: Stephen Miller (Marysville, Wash.).

Wednesday’s (Day 2) National Champions

Girls 1 Slalom and Overall: Alexia Abelson (Holderness, N.H.), 1 buoy at 28 feet off/2,523.4 points; Open Women Slalom and Overall: Regina Jaquess (Santa Rosa Beach, Fla.), 3 buoys at 41 feet off/4,123.3 points; Open Women Jumping: Lauren Morgan (Renton, Wash.), 168 feet; Open Men Slalom: Nate Smith (McCordsville, Ind.), 2-1/2 buoys at 41 feet off; Open Men Jumping: Freddy Krueger (Winter Garden, Fla.), 208 feet; Open Men Overall: Dylan Schaffer (Owens Cross Roads, Ala.), 3,257.4 points; Girls 3 Slalom: Kristen Baldwin (Winter Garden, Fla.), 3-1/2 buoys at 38 feet off; Men 8 Tricks: Joe Blair (Greenwood, Ark.), 1,560 points; Boys 1 Tricks and Overall: Freddy Davis (Milford, Va.), 2,590 points/2,267.5 points; Boys 2 Tricks and Overall: Jake Abelson (Holderness, N.H.), 8,930 points/3,924.2 points; Girls 2 Jumping: Elizabeth Hall (Newnan, Ga.), 79 feet; Girls 2 Overall: Alana Jones (Church Point, La.), 3,116.8 points; Men 6 Slalom: Jack Mills (Jacksonville, Fla.), 1-1/2 buoys at 38 feet off; Men 6 Tricks: Gordon Hall (Martindale, Texas), 4,100 points; Men 6 Jumping: Paul Armour (Plano, Texas), 125 feet; and Men 6 Overall: Stephen Miller (Marysville. Wash.), 2,424.1 points.

Competition continues Thursday at 7:30 a.m. Admission is free and the public is welcome to attend. For complete results and more information, visit www.waterskinationals.com.

Advancement to the world’s largest three-event water ski tournament was primarily earned through placement on the national rankings list. Athletes also could qualify by placing in the top-five in the previous year’s event or at respective 2019 regional championships. The American Water Ski Association, a sport discipline organization of USA Water Ski & Wake Sports, and the Ski Club of the Palm Beaches are hosting the tournament.

The first national championships was held in 1939 at Jones Beach in Long Island, N.Y. Except for three years during World War II (1942-1944), the Nationals has been held every year since 1939.